“Holy Water and Whiskey” Recent Reviews

At the Second Saturday Community CoffeeHouse in Edgewood, New Mexico, Holy Water & Whiskey performed to a packed house on January 10th, 2015.  With their sublime harmonies, they performed several crowd favorites like “The Cape,” “Ghost Riders in the Sky” and “Fancy Red Boots.” They also delighted the crowd by playing several new songs from their upcoming CD Are We There Yet?  The trio, made up of Bruce and Maggie Washburne with Scott Altenbach, cracked jokes, told stories and sang both originals and covers.  They captivated the standing room-only audience for 90 minutes. The chemistry among this talented trio is obvious, and their connection with the audience was heartfelt. Holy Water & Whiskey were definitely a bright and classy addition to the alumni that have performed at this community CoffeeHouse!

Anne-Marie Lax

Second Saturday Community CoffeeHouse

1/30/15


Dear Maggie, Bruce and Scott,

     Thank you so much for your magical concert here at Oasis!  The people who attended loved your performance.  We always ask for feedback and here is a sampling of the comments:  “Fantastic!, Wow!, Excellent, Have them back, Great stuff, Super concert, Lots of fun!”  Thanks you again for bringing joy and wonderful music to our members.

Kathleen Rashob

Director

Oasis Lifelong Learning

10/22/14


 

Wildlife West Nature Park has an amazing Chuck Wagon Dinner Show that features Holy Water and Whiskey as the featured entertainment.  Every Saturday from the middle of June until Labor Day weekend we serve up tasty BBQ and then have live entertainment by the Holy Water and Whiskey band.  The music is dance friendly, with a variety of bluegrass, western swing, folk and great crowd pleasing entertainment.  Since this band has performed at the Chuck Wagon shows our attendance has gone up and people are staying longer.  We are very pleased with their shows and their willingness to work with us including their networking on our behalf.  We highly recommend them to others.  Please call me anytime for references if you would like a personal recommendation.

Roger Alink

Wildlife West Nature Park

Edgewood, NM

Executive Director

1-505-263-9453 

1/16/13


Dear Maggie, Bruce, Scott, and Maria,

Thanks a million for the great music you provided at the Family Cancer Retreat a few weeks ago.   As one of the participants said, you hit just the right tone!  Other comments we received from our participant surveys were: Fantastic!  Excellent!  I loved it!  Holy Water and Whiskey were absolutely wonderful!  As you know, participants come to the retreat from all over New Mexico, bringing with them all of the burdens that accompany a recent cancer diagnosis.  Your music lifted their burdens for a while and gave them something to sing, dance, and laugh about.

Dr. John Trotter                                                                                                            Family Cancer Retreat Coordinator                                                                              Cancer Services of New Mexico 

9/30/11

                  


Dear Bruce, Maggie & Scott,

Well,  we're still in party-mode...and can't shake off the smiles of JOY from our 50th wedding anniversary celebration on 6/12.Many thanks to you three for enlivening our entertainment. I especially appreciated the "circle of life" dance that you engineered.   In your own inimitable way, you got almost all the "old people" (and everyone else) out on the floor.  Way to go! 

We've received several notes commemorating the occasion, and praising our entertainers--that's you!  Words that described "Holy, Water & Whiskey" were:  FABULOUS; WONDERFUL;GREAT ENTERTAINERS...some friends listened to your CD's on the way home, and loved 'em.

So--keep up your good works--good voices--admirable awards, and sweet smiles.  You make the world sing! 

With much appreciation....thank you! thank you! thank you!

Ilona and Fred Schwabb

6/16/11


 

Holy Water and Whiskey is the gentlest folk group I have ever heard, 
during my 50 years in the music business. Their harmony epitomizes 
the essence of  spirituality-in-singing. The effect of their music is 
immensely mesmerizing and truly healing. For me, healing through 
music is more than a concept. Having worked as a music therapist in 
psychiatric hospitals I have observed dramatic healing effects music 
can have on people. The music of Holy Water and Whiskey - the sound 
and blend of their voices, their instruments and their personalities 
- has a softness and healing quality which has a profound effect on 
the listener. The elegance and grace of their music and their genuine 
approach to communicating it to their audience is definitely 
something the world is crying out for.

Paul Roberts
President of Elation Center for the Arts in Pagosa Springs Colorado

11/19/10

 


 

HOLY WATER AND WHISKEY AT O'NIELL'S

We have seen these words broadcasting a fun, bluegrass style band to play at everyone's favorite Albuquerque pub for many years now. Holy Water and Whiskey has been a trademark band at O'Niell's since back in the days of the mid Nob Hill location. Their soothing harmonies and fun loving banter always draw a crowd of music lovers and families of young and old alike. The talented band covers old gospel tunes, classic drinkin' songs, and they even write some great ditties of their own. A truly enjoyable time will be had when you come hear the delightful sounds of Holy Water and Whiskey at everyone's favorite pub!

April

O’Niell’s Pub

10/6/09


Holy Water & Whiskey is the greatest band in the State of NM.  The music is Outstanding and the performers are Wonderful!  The Humor, Wisecracks and Smirks are 100% Celtic.

Thanks for making the world, especially O'Neill's Pub, a better place for everybody to enjoy life to its fullest.

I look forward to seeing and hearing you soon. 

Take Care! 

Tom McHugh.

O’Niell’s Pub

9/19/09

 


 

 

We recently had the pleasure of sponsoring a concert by Holy Water and Whiskey as part of the Rio Rancho United Methodist Church Performing Arts Series.  To describe the concert as a treat would be a vast understatement.  Three well trained, highly complimentary voices combined with outstanding instrumental talent will delight any audience.  Reminiscent of American folk combined with a dose of Appalachian country, gospel, old English street songs and just a hint of old Bostonian sailing music, this band's style will have you tapping your feet no later than 10 seconds into their opening number.  They play acoustical guitar, bass and banjo with a variety of traditional techniques.  They balance their voices and their instruments naturally - you can just sit back and soak it all in.
 
They showed early, the sound check was sheer pleasure and they were professional in every manner.  They engaged (or better said, embraced) the audience and drew them into the concert. I have worked with some seriously talented people over the years and I cannot speak highly enough of this group. A real joy to work with.  Five stars out of four!
 
Gordon Moore

Rio Rancho Performing Arts Series


“Holy Water and Whiskey”, what more can you say!  Appearing at Deming Performing Arts Theater here in Deming was a pure treat for those in attendance.  The harmony, both a cappella and with instruments is crisp and clear, a delight to the listeners ear!  Maggie’s powerful voice, Bruce’s stories and Scott and his tales seem to become one when the music begins.  I guess the operative word for “Holy Water and Whiskey” would be “WOW!”

They have two CD’s out and both are excellent, a great buy for sure.  They are welcome back anytime.  We must not forget Maria, keeper of the sound system!

Glenn Kruger, President

Deming Performing Arts Theater

Deming NM

2/7/09

"Holy Water and Whiskey won over our audience with their immediately 
appealing performance. This is a highly professional group whose 
presentation is seamless; their music, jokes and stories were very 
well received. They kept our audience fully engaged throughout a 
thoroughly entertaining show. Opportunities to hear skilled vocal 
ensembles such as Holy Water and Whiskey are extremely rare these 
days. This group is a delight to work with. We'll certainly have them 
back."

Paul Roberts
President of Elation Center for the Arts in Pagosa Springs Colorado

2/4/09


Last Friday night Holy Water and Whiskey packed the house again.  It seems that everyone loves that group and for good reason.  They gave us another night of great songs, flawless harmonies and some of Bruce’s jokes (where does he get them?)  It was a night of music, laughter and even a few tears.

4/23/08 – Jan Wilder

The Smokehouse

Rio Rancho, NM


     We just love the great songs, harmonies, acapella singing, and fine guitar and banjo playing of Holy Water and Whiskey.  We first heard them at the 2007 Albuquerque Folk Festival and knew it was a group we wanted to hear again.  Since then, we have heard them give excellent performances in bars, at wine festivals and at folk festivals, but our very favorite is the house concert they performed for 30 of our friends in our living room earlier this year.  The Holy Water and Whiskey house concert was a memorable event enjoyed by all our friends, most of whom have never seen Holy Water and Whiskey before.  But they enjoyed the trio so much that they have gone on to see them in other venues. 

     Bruce, Maggie, Scott and Marie are friendly people. Between sets they fit right in with our guests and very much added to the discussion and camaraderie.  What a special event the house concert was for all of us. 

Jim Negro – Albuquerque                                                                   

 

 

When Holy Water and Whiskey played at The Corrales Growers' Market, both the growers and the customers really got an unexpected treat. Far from background music, the sounds of this versatile group caused people to stand, listen and applaud. Familiar tunes like "Cool Water" and "The Wayward Wind" beautifully harmonized, set a comfortable tone for the market's laid- back Sunday morning scene. Original songs like "Laugh When The Sun Don't Shine" seemed  familiar, homey and almost immediately "hummable". It's the kind of music that is uplifting, humorous, and so perfectly woven with guitar, bass and banjo that you wish it would go on forever. The vocals are exceptionally fine, with Maggie Washburne's voice soaring clear as a bell one minute, and then just as naturally joined by Bruce Washburne and Scott Altenbach's harmonies ; it's like hearing what you see when  birds change formation in mid flight; seamless. These folks are the "real deal" for whom music is as natural as breathing. It was a great pleasure to have them play, and we feel really lucky to look forward to their return this season.

Anita Walsh

Corrales Grower’s Market Coordinator

Corrales, NM

May 2008


Review of Holy Water & Whiskey

On August 10, 2007, the United Methodist Men (“UMM”) held a western barbeque fundraising dinner, featuring entertainment by Holy Water & Whiskey.  For the first time, this fundraising dinner was completely sold out.  There is little doubt that the reason it was sold out was because the UMM held the same event last year and brought back Holy Water & Whiskey.  The Church congregation was delighted with the group in 2006 and was very eager to hear them again.  The congregation was pleased with the variety of music the group performed, from standard gospel music (Holy Water) to folk, to just plain fun music (Whiskey).  The performers kept the congregation involved during the entire evening.  Their gorgeous vocal harmonies, great comedic sense and fabulous instrumentation were a huge success. 

Albuquerque United Methodist Church

September  2007

________________________________________________________________________

 

The group, Holy Water & Whiskey" were a hit when they performed at the First Unitarian Church of Albuquerque.  Especially enjoyed were the ethical and religious ideas expressed in the songs "Let the Mystery Be" and "One Voice."  Everyone also enjoyed the a cappella part singing of traditional and folk songs.  The blend was excellent.  We hope that they can return.

         Alan Stringer

         First Unitarian Church

         Albuquerque

         August   2007


     Of all the groups that play at Smokehouse BBQ, this is one of our favorites.  We can always depend on Maggie, Bruce and Scott for an evening of music and laughter.  They are the consummate crowd pleasers, creating a comfortable rapport with the audience.  It is the sort of feeling you would get if they were sitting around your living room, playing their wonderful collection of songs. The choice of music is eclectic, Folk, Gospel, Country, Bluegrass and whatever.  As Bruce says, “We play what we like” and it seems that they like everything.  No matter what they do it is done precisely with excellent harmony and instrumentation.

     As a rule Bruce can be depended on for the laughter with some of his good Midwestern jokes.  Oley and Lena were never funnier.

     When you see them don’t forget to buy their CD, Better Late than Never.  It is beautifully produced and captures their sound perfectly. 

Rob and Jan Wilder

Smokehouse BBQ

Rio Rancho, NM

January  2007


Professors of biology, farmers, and musicians, these three friends play traditional folk, bluegrass, gospel and some “select” whiskey tunes.  With a focus on beautiful vocal harmonies, they create a relaxing and enjoyable listening experience for audiences of all ages and are one of our most requested performers.

Roselie Johnston

Manager

Solid Grounds Coffee House

Albuquerque, NM

April   2007

"Holy Water and Whiskey provided us a tangy mix of bluegrass, gospel and folk music -- they made familiar tunes uniquely their own.  Their clear, rich and intricately woven harmonies inspired us all as the voices played the music and the instruments sang.    They are welcome back any time they want to play for us!"

The staff of the Highlands Center for Natural History

October 2007

Once again, we thank you!

Nichole Trushell
Executive Director
Highlands Center for Natural History

1375 S. Walker Road

Prescott, AZ

 

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    July 2015

    Categories

    All